Playing For Time

Selected by the Sunday Times as one of the Top 100 albums of 2020.

Recorded at the Goldmine Records studio in southern Italy and the Recording Booth in Suffolk.

Recorded, mixed and co-produced by David Booth.

Backing musicians: Hartmut Saam (accordion, vocals), Giovanni Rago (electric guitar), Fortunata Monzo (vocals), Giovanni Crescenzi (bass), Domenico de Marco (percussion) and David Booth (vocals, bass, per


‘We need cheering up right now and this singer-songwriter, sometimes tender, sometimes sardonic, is just the ticket.’ Sunday Times

‘Infused with a light, bright café sparkle … This is classic folk blues in the making.’ Fatea Magazine

‘Terrific …. a collection of songs bursting with warmth.’ At the Barrier

‘Nilsson Schmilsson meets Jake Thackray with a little bit of Bonzo Dog thrown in for good measure.’ The Living Tradition

‘Humorous, beautiful, deadly, a real treat for the senses.’ Liverpool Sound & Vision

‘A thoroughly accessible and likeable collection from this pensive and quietly intriguing man.’ R’n’R Magazine

‘If you enjoy George Brassens, Tom Lehrer and Jake Thackray, this CD is for you.’ Folk London

‘A great CD, unmistakably Terence Blacker.’ Mardles


  1. The Anno Domini Rag 
  1. The Sha-La-La-La Song  
  1. Europa, Mein Amour  
  1. Memories Are Company  
  1. Thank You To My Team 
  1. Forty Degrees  
  1. Fake News 
  1. The Players and the Game  
  1. Me Too  
  1. I Fool Myself  
  1. Time Is a Hard-Ridden Pony (with FORTUNATA MONZO)  

      12. Saved By a Song